Skip to content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer

Religious tourism to the tomb of Imogiri

Pilgrimage to the tomb of the kings of Mataram in Imogiri - Officially, the tomb Imogiri have official names as found in the gate, that "Pasareyan Dalem Para Nata Pajimatan Girirejo Imogiri". The point is that in this place there are the tombs of kings Sultanate of Mataram Islam. Islamic Mataram kingdom was the forerunner to the Sultanate of Yogyakarta and Surakarta Kasunanan which is still standing. Mataram kingdom was founded by Panembahan Senopati. This Imogiri tomb until recently opened to the public, so for anyone who may be visiting the area and made a pilgrimage to the tomb of the kings of the kingdom of Mataram.

Cemetery location Imogiri
Tomb of the Kings Imogiri is located in the hamlet Pajimatan - Girirejo village - Imogiri sub district - Bantul regency- Yogyakarta city.

Sugeng Rawuh bin Welcome in Imogiri

History tomb Imogiri
Imogiri tomb construction was initiated by Sultan Agung Adi Prabu Hanyokrokusumo which is the third king of the kingdom of Mataram in 1632 - 1640. This tomb is prepared for the tombs of the kings of Mataram kingdom that has died and his descendants. There is an interesting story about the site selection Mataram king's tomb. It was said that, at the time of Sultan Agung not have a description of the location of the tomb to be built. He then threw a handful of sand that obtained from Arab land. The sand is then falls in the area Imogiri and fall of the sand, then used as a royal burial site. In 1632, the region Imogiri tomb was built by an architect named Kyai Tumenggung Tjitrokoesoemo on the orders of Sultan Agung. After 13 years later in 1645, Sultan Agung passed away and was buried in Imogiri.

Kings are buried in Imogiri
The structure and composition of the tomb of the king is triangular in shape. Tomb of Sultan Agung at the top. While the East side is where the tombs of the kings of Yogyakarta Sultanate and on the west side there is the tomb of King of Surakarta Kasunanan. Separation of the tomb of the king of the descendants of Sultan Agung is because of the impact of a split in the family palace which originated from the resistance Prince Mangkubumi (HB I) against his brother is Pakubowono II. Due to the division that eventually emerged Giyanti Treaty in 1755 which contains the Islamic Mataram kingdom in the two became Yogyakarta Sultanate and Surakarta Kasunanan.

Besides Sultan Agung, there are 23 kings were buried in this Imogiri. They were divided into 8 groups, namely:
  1. Kasultanan Agung (Tomb of Sultan Agung, empress, Hamangkurat Mas and Hamangkurat Amral.
  2. Pakubowono (Tomb of Pakubowono I, II and Hamangkurat Jawi)
  3. Kasuwargan Yogyakarta (Tomb of HB I and HB III)
  4. Besiyaran Yogyakarta (Tomb of HB IV, HB V and HB VI)
  5. Saptorenggo Yogyakarta (Tomb of HB VII, HB VIII and HB IX)
  6. Kasuwargan Surakarta (Tomb of PB III, PB IV and PB V)
  7. Kapingsangan Surakarta (Tomb of PB VI, PB VII and PB IX)
  8. Girimulya Surakarta (Tomb of PB X, PB XI and PB XII)

Post a Comment for "Religious tourism to the tomb of Imogiri"